Jacket of Excellence Recap

Yume Kamal, News reporter

Fifty-seven Venice High School seniors were awarded both a Jacket of Excellence and a Certificate of Commendation this year.

Jackets of Excellence were awarded on Feb. 2, to students who have attended Venice High School for at least two years, have a weighted GPA of no less than 3.75, no more than three unsatisfactory marks, and no more than seven absences per year.

This yearly tradition for honoring seniors began in 1984. Since then Venice High School, the Venice Chamber of Commerce, the Venice Alumni Association and a few other local partners have hosted annual community luncheons rewarding top seniors for their accomplishments throughout their high school years.

“The Jacket of Excellence was a wonderful award for all my hard work during my four years of high school,” said senior Ray Tanaka.

“I was really proud when I received my Jacket of Excellence,” said Tati Bok. “I have been looking forward to this experience since freshman year.”

A countless number of family, teachers and community members came to celebrate Venice’s top seniors. Venice Chamber of Commerce and School board member Nick Melvoin also attended Friday evening, in honor of the 57 seniors who qualified for the Jacket of Excellence.

Aaron Cruz
Alejandro Sanchez
Andrew Marroquin
Angelica Morales
April Cuarenta
Arely Pineda
Brianna Grold
Bryce Rodriguez
Chinomso Nwiwu
Claire Comnredet
Colin Chun
Erik Velasco
Ernesto Medina
Harjeet Singh
Helina Yirgu
Hugo Guzman
Jake Nuesca
Janet Reyes
Jannteh Lopez
Jared Apillanes
Jasmine Zettel
Josephine Roberts
Kaitlin Craig
Kana Suzuki
Katherine Miya
Kazuha Miyoshi
Keir Bildgen
Kyla Laing
Kylie Brown
Linda Rodriguez
Lukas Olesinski
Lynda Jauregui
Maksym Prokopovych-Shchepetkin
Mari Sakamoto
Mary Soliman
Matisse Sowards
Max Melika
Monet Garrett
Mya Gates
Nnaemeka Nwiwu
Noelle Cho
Pedro Celis
Penelope Boutry
Qianhui Fang
Ray Tanaka
Rebecca Lopez
Reese Komesu
Ryan Kent
Ryan Ohkawahira
Samuel Yoshioka
Sangdae Park
Shreya Kappall
Steven Steiner
Talia Akiba
Tatiana Bok
Tenzing Sherpa
Yuki Ito