How to get your driver’s license

All that teens need to know about obtaining a provisional permit and a California driver license.

Vivian Lewis, reporter

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Depending on your age, driver’s education may be required in order to get your driving license.

A person who is between 15 ½ and 18 can obtain their provisional driving permit, after completing a state-approved driver’s education course and after passing the DMV written test.

Drivers ed is required for teens to learn basic driving skills, like traffic laws and speed limits. The lessons must total 25 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind–the–wheel professional instruction. Then a score on a written test determines whether you will receive your provisional permit.

Having a permit allows you to practice safe driving only and with an adult to supervise who is 25 years of age and older and who also has a valid California drivers license. You must wait a total of six months before taking the official driving test and finally receive a California drivers license.

If you are over 17 1/2 years old but under 18 years old, you may get your provisional permit without driver’s education. However, you will not be allowed to take the driving test until you turn 18 years old.

The first step to do so is to schedule an appointment to visit the nearest DMV office in order to avoid long lines and speed up the process.

Secondly a person must come prepared with the required documentation. They are the following: social security number, birth certificate, and two acceptable residency documents. Once you are at the DMV office, you can request your permit. After revising the documents, the person at the front desk will ask you to sign up for driving ed and complete a vision test.

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.




How to get your driver’s license